Renovation of the Jamesport Manor Inn began in February 2005, just one year after the purchase by Matt and Gail Kar and Frank and Anne McVeigh. This was no easy task. The original fish-scale slate Mansard roof was replaced with slate customized to be identical in scale to the original slate. Windows were painstakingly repaired, glazed and painted. New electrical, plumbing, heat and air conditioning systems were installed. Most rooms were gutted and sheet rocked, but carefully, to retain the massive amounts of original woodworking throughout. Layers of carpet and floor tiles revealed breathtaking parquet floors throughout the first floor. The original frame structure of the 1820’s construction was revealed when plaster walls were removed in the Grille Room. By mid October the Manor was virtually complete when a fire destroyed the entire historical building in the early morning of October 20th.
Our community was shocked and saddened. It was a tragic loss not only to the town of Jamesport, but to our entire North Fork community.
With the overwhelming support of their community, the owners made the decision to not only rebuild the Manor, but to replicate the original 1850’s structure. And the process began …
Armed with talented architects, a skilled and professional custom builder, the resilience of the owners and a community of supporters, the project began in August2006. Great pains were taken at virtually every turn in the rebuilding process to replicate the architecture of the original Manor. Amazingly, with this team of professionals, countless man hours, skill and passion, the Jamesport Manor Inn was complete and the restaurant opened to the public in May 2007.
The Manor “Reborn” is a virtual replica of the original Manor building, from the fish scale Mansard roof, dormered windows, and intricate woodworking that can be seen in the corbels, front entrance porch and window scroll trim. The interior is similar, but not exact, to allow for changes in town code. The original bar is replicated and features a recreation of the original framing structure on the north wall of the Grille Room. The center hall staircase showcases the custom rails, balusters and newel posts almost identical to the original construction. Two dining rooms return with a fireplace in each, mantels and hearths replicating the originals. The themed Manor “archways” with signature center decorative keys can be detected throughout. Finally, the prayer seats of John and Rosalie Dimon return in the hauntingly welcoming entrance foyer.